Next Live Race Broadcast:
Speedway Motors Tulsa Shootout LIVE PPV (CST)
Wednesday, December 28, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Featured Article

Madsen triumphs at Sydney

Posted on: January 5th, 2013 by rb_admin

By Sydney Speeway PR (Sydney NSW, AUS) — Ian Madsen has clean swept night one of the Sydney Speedweek Grand Finale by claiming quicktime, heat and feature wins now elevating him to the top of the Speedweek Points.

Pole sitter Warren Ferguson led almost the entire race until Max Dumesny got drive off the topside of turn two with three laps remaining and in the process claimed the lead. However on the next corner as both Fergusson and Dumesny went to the bottom Madsen went to the top and passed the both of them with three laps left on the board.

PHOTO: Ian Madsen–CREDIT: R. Green MF29 Photography

The large Sydney crowd were stunned as Madsen pulled the move of the night. The last lap proved interesting as Madsen got caught up with lap traffic, but Dumesny didn’t quite have enough on the bottom and Madsen walked away with yet another win for season 2012-13.

So the podium saw Dumesny second with Trevor Green making a late charge for third. Fergusson was fourth followed by Saldana, Atkinson, Smith, Jeffery, Veal and Maher rounding out the top ten.

The Wingless A-Main was taken out by Michael Sammut with Brendan Scorgie and Scott Row rounding out the podium.

Jay Hall put yet another win on the board in the Lightning Sprints ahead of early race leader Martin Binskin and AJ McTaggart.

Join us tomorrow night for the final night of Speedweek. Forty Laps will be on the board for the Sprintcar feature, the question is who will be crowned the Speedweek Champion?